good ole’ spaghetti

I must say, I love Italian cooking.  Heavenly, complex flavor in only 3 or 4 ingredients.  Well, my recent marinara probably had more ingredients than that, but its simplicity still made it so good that we ate it 5 out of 5 days this week.  Yes, we intended to freeze some of it to enjoy over winter term, but alas, that dream went as quickly as we guzzled up our marinara.  Do you eat it with pasta?  Do you eat it with bread today?  Do you eat it with a squash?  Yes, we eat it every way!

From “The Joy of Cooking”:
2 lbs tomatoes or 28 oz can
1/3 c ev olive oil
3 cloves garlic
6 sprigs fresh basil
6 sprigs fresh parsley
Simmer until thick (10 min)

Well that’s the recipe anyway…I LOVE my crockpot so it cooked for about 8 hours.  Also, we didn’t use fresh herbs this time but in the summer I DO!  I didn’t add parsley either, though I should have because parsley’s very good for you, even though in my opinion it doesn’t taste like much.

Leave a Reply

