Crackers — finally!

You may remember from a previous post I was trying to get my home-made crackers to turn out.  You know, to be crisp and crunchy rather than tough and dense.  Well, I got that pasta maker and finally turned out some crackers to be proud of! 

The pasta maker made the crackers nice and thin, thinner than I was getting with the rolling pin (guess I’m not that good with it!) and, more importantly, an even thickness.

I also used this recipe; the use of ground oats made the dough less “pasty” which I think helped them retain crispness without going all the way to “hard.”

I made just a few modifications to the recipe in the link above, here is my recipe list:

1 1/2 cups oatmeal (ground or processed)

1/2 cup toasted wheat germ

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1 1/2 TB sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup (any) vegetable oil

6 TB cold water

Mix dry ingredients, slowly add wet, send through the pasta maker, cut and bake at 300 F for 30-35 minutes.

They turned out so good!  I’m afraid they wouldn’t hold up to a dip though.  Next time I might replace some of the whole wheat pastry flour with a little bit of white flour, and see if I could use them with humus or something.

Happy crackers!

Leave a Reply

